My first actual role in a school play was Drizella, one of the stepsisters in the Disney version of Cinderella, when I was in 6th grade (one of the defining experiences of my life, actually, but that’s not the point at the moment). Of course, there’s the scene where the Grand Duke is trying to fit the glass slipper on the stepsisters and the girls’ feet are way too big.

Five years later, I played Cinderella’s Stepmother  in my high school production of Into the Woods. As all of the fairy tales presented in Act I are based on the writings by the Brothers Grimm, I had to cut off toes and heels so the stepsisters could fit into the golden slipper.

And I wonder why I hate shoe shopping?

I’m looking for a pair of black pumps of some nature.  Even just shopping online, I’m ready to slit my throat. And it doesn’t even have anything to do with prices.

I have big feet. And they’re wide.  My shoe size? 11 wide. So many shoe designers/manufacturers are under the impression that women’s feet don’t come that big/that wide. And if they do accept it, they never have said size in stock. And very often they’re never really “wide”. I cringe just looking at the pictures of shoes on the Zappos website.

Then there’s the problem with heels. As I am long-waisted, I very much appreciate heels to give a longer line to my legs. However…I’m 5′ 9″.  I intimidate people just standing there barefoot; the last thing I need is extra height. So what do I choose – intimidating but attractive, or not-so-scary but dumpy? If somebody could invent a shoe that lengthened my legs yet made me about 6 inches shorter, I would be eternally grateful.

Is it really too much to ask for a stylish, comfortable pair of shoes that fit me? If so, then can flip flops become acceptable professional wear?

