I titled this blog after a phrase I used to describe how I felt sometimes in yoga class. Except until last night, I hadn’t been to yoga since a week before I went live.

I hadn’t been going because, well, yoga is expensive – $15/drop-in class seems to be the average  around here. Fortunately, the place I go to has a class on Sunday nights that is only $7, and all proceeds are donated to animal rescue charities (all weekday classes before noon are only $10, which I also used to take advantage of).

I’d been going to yoga all during August, and I actually became pretty good at it rather quickly. But last night it was  obvious that I hadn’t been doing it for awhile – my half moon pose was really shaky. On the other hand, I was able to do bow pose, which I had never even tried before. I also lucked out and had my favorite instructor (it rotates).

I will admit, though that my main reason for going to yoga last night had nothing to do with fitness or enlightenment. I went so I could escape trick-or-treaters.

I don’t know if I can make sense of this to others through the written word; it makes sense in my head, but I’m well-acquainted with how my head works. Landlords and I share the front entrance.To me, it makes no sense for kids to have to ring two bells at one door and have two sets of people giving out candy. Sure, I could just close the curtains, turn off the lights, and hide out in my bedroom and/or office. But a) I wouldn’t have access to the TV or laptop, and b) as my doorbell is the closest to the door, that’s the one the kids ring first (as I found out two years ago).  And as I would feel terribly lazy and guilty if my bell kept ringing and I was home and not answering (guilty about annoying Landlords, who have to come downstairs every time, not about disappointing the kiddies), I figured it would be a good idea if I got out of the house during trick-or-treating hours. I left two bags of Butterfingers and a note for Landlords, and took off.

(For the record, though it may not sound like it from the above paragraph, I actually do like kids. A lot.)

In general, I have mixed feelings about Halloween. I like candy. I like dressing up. I don’t like the whole “horror” theme – monsters, witches, ghosts, vampires, werewolves, spiders, bats, graveyards, gore and other disgusting things, etc.  I don’t like scary movies. I don’t like seeing non-homemade costumes on anyone, kids or adults (I get that you’re pressed for time, moms and dads. But in general, to me, it screams lack of creativity). And I really hate the color orange.

As today is November 1st, it’s the first day of NaNoWriMo. Which means I have 12 hours to come up with a story idea I like (I may have one, but I’m not sure) and get the first 1500 words written. I’ve attempted NaNoWriMo in the past, but have never completed it – last year I was gangbusters for the first two weeks, and then I got a computer virus (fortunately I had my noel saved to a flash drive instead of my hard drive) which threw me off track and I never caught up (I have continued working on it over the past year, though, and finally hit 50,000 words last month. No, it’s still not actually finished, though. :) ). I really want to actually do it this year, though. Not to mention that I figure if I start doing it with the thought that being unemployed I’ll have plenty of time, that I’ll finally get a new job. :)

I decided last night that I need more orchids. I’ll explain why in my next post.

