Important news, of a sort…my first results from my marketing efforts! About a month ago I submitted a suggestion to boston.com that they add OooaR to their New England Blog Network listings, as one of their Local Life Blogs. And today I got a response that it’s been added! Look – it’s on the list!

(Yeah, in the grand scheme of everything, probably not so big. Whether or not it will bring me more traffic remains to be seen. But for someone with little business acumen, it’s something I tried and it actually worked.)

And in other ‘yay!’ news, though it’s really more ‘yay!’ for you, I’m actually going to give you a recipe. That is maybe-kinda-sorta of my very own.

This evening I baked two loaves of beer bread. I used to make it a lot before I had a stand mixer, since it requires absolutely no kneading (I don’t do kneading by hand; I don’t like getting my hands all yucky. Or the kitchen table all messy, which would also be why I don’t do cut-out cookies or make my own pie crusts *high-fives CJ*). And I had some beer I wanted to use up (it’s beer that I discovered I don’t like drinking. And while I would never cook with a wine I don’t like, I can and do with beer I don’t like – in addition to baking, I use it in marinades).

The recipe I used as my base comes from Dom DeLuise’s Eat This…It’ll Make You Feel Better, which is actually a pretty damn good Italian cookbook – I also use his pizza dough recipe (when I bother to make dough, or have run out of the dough I buy at Shaw’s and am desperate), as well as use his risotto recipe as a jumping off point. And yes, The Mom, I did steal your copy. Anyway, there’s a note at the end of the recipe that says how you can change up the flours (whole wheat, bran flakes, oats, etc.). So I did. So I thought I’d tell you how.

 

For one loaf:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 4 1/2 teaspoons baking powder*
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt (I use kosher)*
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 12 oz. beer (I used very old Smuttynose Pumpkin Ale; I also used it at room temperature, as I seem to recall reading somewhere that it works better in beer bread that way. You do whatever the hell you want.)

*Every beer bread recipe I’ve ever seen calls for self-rising flour. I don’t know anybody who buys/keeps it in the house (I certainly don’t). Making your own self-rising flour is simple (1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon salt per 1 cup of AP flour). But I always forget how to do it, so I always have to look it up. And it annoys me that they don’t just write the damn recipe for AP flour and instruct you to add th salt and baking powder. So I’m taking matters into my own hands and doing just that. If by some chance you’re a freak who has self-rising flour on hand, omit the baking powder and salt.

Preheat oven to 375 F. Grease a regular-sized loaf pan. Mix all ingredients in a bowl, but don’t over-mix (think muffin method). Pour into loaf pan. Bake for an hour. Eat.

In case you were wondering, I am against any usage of the word “nom” as regards to eating  (as a French noun, it’s fine). I don’t even like it in LOL cats. Or Cookie Monster.

And because mentioning Cookie Monster made me think of Sesame Street, I now feel the need to share with you my favorite Kermit song, ever.  You’re going to think I’m nuts…because it also reveals that I have a weird thing for disco.

