First, a few things straight:

– I did not watch the Super Bowl. Not preshow, the halftime show, or any of the ads. But I of course have heard about Christina fucking up the lyrics to “The Star Spangled Banner” (I refer to her as Christina like I’m such a huge fan – truth is, I’m just too lazy to look up how to spell her last name).

– I am not what one might call a “patriot.” At least, Fox News Channel certainly wouldn’t. If you take into account that, as one of the signs at the Rally to Restore Sanity stated, the Founding Fathers were East Coast Liberals, then maybe I am. But you will never catch me wearing/displaying anything that says “Proud to be an American” (unless I’m referencing Drop Dead Gorgeous. And yes, I will move the car if a cripple comes.).

Anyway…I was about to write that I was irked that there wasn’t more incredulity over Christina’s screw-up, but I did some research and it looks like there had been more than I had originally caught. But now I’m even more incredulous than I originally was.

She told the AP, “I got so lost in the moment of the song that I lost my place.”

Okay. Now, I can understand that, in general. I can understand being nervous – twice I’ve gone into auditions and forgotten the words to my song.  I can only imagine how nerve-wracking it must be to perform at the Super Bowl.

BUT.

I have also had the experience of singing the National Anthems (yes, anthems – US and Canadian; remember, I grew up/went to college on the border) at athletic events. They were nowhere near on the par of the Super Bowl. I had no back up, no music – just me and a mic, singing a capella.  And I would not have dreamed of going in there without knowing those songs absolutely cold.

The National Anthem is a song that every American should be able to sing in their sleep,  You should know it the way you know the Pledge of Allegiance (and my hatred of that is another post for another day). And a soloist should know it even better.

Go ahead, be lost in the moment – consciously, But you better know that song so well that your subconscious will take over and you will sing every note, every word, perfectly.

I’m sorry Christina. You obviously meant well, but as I see it, this was an example of poor preparation and there is no excuse for it.

