I have yet another new favorite food blog, and that is Serious Eats. For breakfast on Sunday morning I made Grilled Cheese Eggsplosion, which worked quite well (would have been tastier if I’d used a good Italian bread instead of low-carb whole wheat, though). And at some point on Sunday I read this post on Trader Joe’s frozen steel-cut oatmeal. And specifically, the last paragraph caught my attention:

…what if you made a batch of steelcut oatmeal yourself, then divvied it up into an ice cube tray. Depending on your hunger levels, you could go for a couple cubes, or like six. Zap them in the microwave, and there you have it. Oatmealsicles, anyone? Is reheating frozen oatmeal the next big thing in the oatmeal world?

I have no answer for the author. But…I did have steel-cut oats (yes, I finally picked up a bag. They’re even organic.). And a clean slow-cooker. So Sunday night I set up to make oatmeal – 1 cup oats, 4 cups water, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, a pinch of kosher salt, and a handful each of chopped almonds and dried cranberries (yes, they were both organic, too. Come to think of it, so was the cinnamon…). Set the slow cooker on low and off to bed.

(Okay, actually I had a cup of tea, did ten minutes of candle gazing – yes, it’s kinda my new meditative hobby, I guess – and then went to bed)

Come morning  – this is where I’d like to mention that despite being  pleased at getting myself up earlier again, it’s annoying to wake up 15 minutes before the coffeemaker starts – I had my oatmeal (pretty good, but could use a little more tweaking; I also forgot to spray the crock with Pam, which makes clean-up a pain). Turned off the slow cooker, let the rest of the batch cool down, then loaded up an ice cube tray. A few hours later, transferred them to a Ziploc.

This morning, I tossed four cubes into a bowl and nuked them for 2 minutes. Gave it a stir, then another minute and a half.

Yep, self-frozen oatmeal works! And I still have two more mornings worth of breakfast stashed in the freezer.

