1. I had an idea for a post called the Declaration of Amanda. Except it was based on one line/idea: “I hold this truth to be self-evident, that decent wings do not exist outside of Buffalo, NY.” Said post is on the back burner until I come up with more ideas than that.
  2. It was inspired by an article I found on boston.com yesterday, on New England’s best Buffalo wings. I posted the link on Facebook with the comment, “They don’t exist. End of story.”
  3. And continuing with boston.com headlines that make me laugh, check out this one: College student binge drinking linked to memory problems. I haven’t read the article, but I like imagining that it’s about a bunch of frat boys commenting on how they started drinking near Fenway and then woke up in the Somerville Target parking lot and have no idea how they got there. And every other word is “Duuuude…”
  4. Another post idea (or maybe just idea in general…it might end up too personal to be a post) I had today was Cover Letter to the Universe. See, I had a job interview this morning. I met with two people, separately, and both of them gave mucho kudos to my cover letter. While it was good to hear that there is apparently something I do right in my never-ending job hunt, it wasn’t the first time I’d heard it – my cover letter is good (the I certainly appreciate the reaffiramtion). To paraphrase one of the interviewers, it’s bold without being over the top. I don’t go on and on forever. It’s slightly out of the box. In other words, it’s Me. :) Now, I often feel like people and especially The Universe don’t listen to me, to what I have to say and offer. But my cover letter gets me interviews, so people are listening, at least a little. Which got me thinking…if I wrote my cover letter addressed to The Universe, about what I want and need and can offer, maybe I’ll finally get somewhere.
  5. I mentioned my pancake experiments in my last post. I’ve done several things with Bisquick of late, but I’ll talk about those in another post (though I will mention that I think I’m losing my taste for Bisquick). My best and most surprising experiment was from scratch: Oatcakes, from Beat That! by Ann Hodgman. It was a surprise for several reason, mainly because I had made them once before, while I was in law school, and I absolutely hated them. But something made me want to try them again. Maybe a desire for more soluble fiber. So I made half a batch, with some modifications, of course – whole wheat flour, egg substitute (for practicality as well as reducing the fat – it’s a much easier way to measure out 1.5 eggs), skim milk, and added 2 T. ground flaxmeal and about 1/3 cup chopped pecans. They were fantastic. And even easier than overnight oatmeal in the slow-cooker (it’s a lot easier to wash a mixing bowl and a frying pan). I think I’ll get a batch started again tonight, for tomorrow’s breakfast.
