• I had plans for a post. Of course, I’ve completely forgotten what said plan was.
  • I’ve realized I need a footstool/ottoman. And probably fold-able TV tray tables (even though I hate them with a passion).
  • I did all of my dishes last night. Go me!
  • And then I baked Nigella Lawson’s Dense Chocolate Loaf Cake, to which I added about 1/3 cup chopped pecans (yum). So I once again have to do dishes.
  • I also brewed a gallon of sweet tea. I think I used a ratio of 4 parts Barry’s Irish Breakfast to 3 parts green tea.
  • And then I made cold-brewed iced coffee. I really can’t justify ~$40 for that spiffy Bodum iced coffee press. Last week The Amateur Gourmet posted a link on Facebook to a recipe/method on making New Orleans-style iced coffee, with chicory. Considering I don’t keep that in the house, I went Googling for a basic recipe/method, and found this from the New York Times (turns out the method is exactly the same). I made a double-recipe (approximately – I think it ended up with a little less water than it should have had),  which made four servings (in the past 6 hours, I’ve drank three of them). And I’ve discovered that the perfect brewing/storage vessel is a Nalgene bottle. I may actually go out later and buy a new one, specifically for this purpose (I need a bigger bottle – mine is only 24 oz., which really doesn’t allow enough room for all of the water + coffee grounds).
  • And between the three glasses of iced coffee, the glass of iced tea, and two glasses of water, I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve been in the bathroom. :)
  • Landlords are leaving on Monday. I’m practically counting down the hours. The moment they’re gone/I wake up (whichever comes first), I’m laundering every piece of fabric in my apartment (well, probably not the sofa slipcovers, as they were a huge pain in the ass). And I have ideas for both chalkboard paint and magnetic paint…
  • Earlier this week I booked my flights to and from Buffalo, June 28th – July 6th. Family Fourth of July picnic at my parents’, Stewie’s baptism (not to mention finally getting to meet the little guy!), and hopefully getting to see a lot of friends whom I miss.
  • Would love to get in a trip to Canada, but I highly doubt that will happen – The week of Canada Day (July 1st) and the Fourth of July is NOT a time I recommend for driving across the border. Unless sitting for two hours in bumper-to-bumper traffic on the Peace Bridge is your kind of thing.
  • USA ran a 5-hour Covert Affairs marathon today. All of which I TiVo’d (and have watched the first hour). So happy the show is coming back this coming week – I like Piper Perabo, Peter Gallagher, and Anne Dudek a lot. And Christopher Gorham is dreamy.
  • Was going to go into Harvard Square this afternoon, but the thought of tourists is giving me anxiety. Maybe I’ll just go to Porter instead. And I should probably do that now.
