• This was the first full weekend of the month, so you know what that means – I spent Sunday afternoon at the MFA. I completely skipped the Art of the Americas collection this time around (though I do want to explore the contemporary part of the collection a bit more) and instead saw more of Art of the Ancient World and Art of Asia, Africa, and Oceania (though not as much of either as I want), and ended up spending more time in Art of Europe than I had intended.
  • I also saw the exhibit on Scassi: American Couturier, which was great. I love seeing vintage clothing that is a part of pop culture, such as the pantsuit Barbra Streisand wore when she won the Oscar for Funny Girl.
  • I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the Art of Europe. In particular, Paul Gauguin’s Where Do We Come From? What Are We? Where Are We Going? Though…is it wrong that I recognized the title from the No Reservations episode when Anthony Bourdain was in French Polynesia?
  • I also surprised myself with my knowledge of art. I hadn’t thought I knew all that much, but very often when presented with a work I didn’t know I found I could figure out the artist just by looking at the style.
  • I bought a print for my living room, George Inness’ Blue Niagara. What can I say – it’s always going to be a part of me.
  • I’m having a LOT of trouble with ear worms as of late. A few days ago they were alternating between Lady Gaga’s “Judas” and “Waltzing Matilda.” Today it’s k.d. lang’s “Miss Chatelaine” (I blame the Porter Square CVS for having it on the current in-store soundtrack).
  • Landlords left around 7:30 this morning. Today I’ve done four loads of laundry, including my duvet cover, pillow shams, nightstand table runners, box spring top sheet (don’t ask), three sets of sheets, armoire curtains and runner, and two bathmats. And I rotated my box springs and mattress.
  • Being anyplace alone for an extended period of time, left entirely to my own devices, always makes me feel like I should put on a captain’s hat and have scantily-clad women running in and out of my living room.
  • You did catch that as a reference to Stewie Griffin’s sexy parties on Family Guy, right?
  • Despite all the laundry, it ended up being more of a sad day. I think I need to get out and do something tomorrow.
