Why, why, why do I ever think I’m going to find a fabulous recipe in any of Joanne Fluke’s books? Tonight’s recipe trial wasn’t even for cookies or baked goods – it was a “quick and easy” chicken soup. First of all, I’m not a fan of chicken soup in general. *waits while The Mom interrupts to tell how I used to make it all the time as a toddler, all by myself, from scratch. Yes, The Mom, we know. It’s been thirty years – I’m not crazy about it anymore. Move on.*

Second, I’m wary of any recipe that calls for condensed soup, and this has it – boil egg noodles in chicken broth, add condensed cream of chicken soup, cubed cooked chicken (I used roasted chicken thighs), and sour cream (which I skipped – it seemed like it was really more of a garnish, but maybe it was more important than I thought). Heat through.

I don’t know what I was thinking…must have been the egg noodles that drew me in. I’m a sucker for pasta/macaroni/noodles cooked in chicken broth.

It’s not completely horrible, but I certainly won’t make it again (I only made half a batch and I have no idea what I’m going to do with the rest of it – what a waste of organic, free-range chicken). The recipe is mentioned in the text of the book (Devil’s Food Cake Murder) and I laugh ever time I think of the main character thinking it had “complex flavors.” Unless you’re using homemade chicken broth and a roast chicken you did yourself (and let’s face it, if you’re making this type of recipe to begin with, you probably aren’t), there is absolutely nothing “complex” about the flavors.

And thanks to the picture on the cover of a devil’s food cake, I’m dying for frosted chocolate cake (and I don’t even really like your typical chocolate cake or frosting). I’m just dying for baked goods, period (preferably chocolate). But I have none in the house and I’m not up to baking or leaving the house at the moment (this is when I really miss having car – the thought of hauling ass to the T or the bus to make a trip for one random craving, which would probably take close to an hour, round-trip, and that’s if I don’t have to wait at any point, is just overwhelming. With a car, I could be to Shaw’s and back in 15 minutes, and that’s accounting for traffic).

I am so ready for a change in my life. Preferably many changes. But I am so ready.

