I lied. I did leave the house today – I went and finally saw Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2, in IMAX 3D.

*potential spoilers ahead – if you’ve read the book, you’re probably okay*

  • best time to go to the movies in Boston during the summer is definitely during a home BloSox game – place was practically empty.
  • worst time to commute home from the movies in Boston during the summer is right after a home BloSox game – really annoys me that people have discovered the 1 and CT1 bus routes along Mass Ave.
  • completely off-topic, but I was once stuck at Kenmore Station (closest station to Fenway Park), in 90-degree heat, after a Sox home game. It was Yankees Fan Hell.
  • anyway…my one complaint about the IMAX 3D experience was that if I turned my head wrong, the 3D effect was gone.
  • Cinematography was beautiful.
  • Shot I loved – from the vantage point of the base of a staircase, a sea of navy and black coming down the stairs as Luna, dressed in medium blue and fuchsia, fought her way up the stairs. You couldn’t miss her.
  • During some of the longer fight sequences I sometimes wished I had a remote so I could fast forward (I do this all the time – fights tend to bore me).
  • That said…McGonagall dueling Snape was awesome.
  • And Molly Weasley vs. Bellatrix – now that was something I would have enjoyed as an extended fight sequence (it was pretty short – awesome, but short). I kept wondering during the movie if they had kept the line in, and sure enough: “Not. My. Daughter. Bitch.”  I wanted to start cheering (I settled for pumping my fist in the air – don’t worry, I was in the back row)
  • I teared up when the Weasleys were mourning the loss of Fred and when Harry saw that Remus and Tonks had been killed. I started crying when Harry told Ron and Hermione that he was going to the Forbidden Forest and Hermione said, “I’ll go with you.” But I really lost it when Harry used the Resurrection Stone and brought back his parents, Sirius, and Remus. I’ve always loved that Remus was included in that part – Harry’s parents and Sirius (his godfather) are obvious, but it really shows just how important Remus was in his life.
  • In case you didn’t know, Remus is my favorite character in all of Harry Potter.
  • I need chocolate and/or baked goods/pastries
  • I had some comment about Project Runway (I’ve been watching marathons, in preparation for the season 9 premiere tonight), but I forgot what it was.
  • I also need jersey knit sheets. Preferably in green.
