Last summer the heat gave me horrible insomnia. This year, it seems like it’s turned my circadian rhythms around to something decent – I go to bed sometime between 11 and 11:30pm and wake up around 7:30am.

Of course, with me being, you know, me, I get a full eight hours of sleep and I still feel guilty for sleeping too much.

Anyway…it tends to result in me cooking before noon. And today I’ve done it twice.

Breakfast this morning was based on Broccoli and Italian Sausage Egg Muffins. I say “based on” because I changed a few things (of course):

  • No broccoli. Mainly because I don’t have any right now, but also because while I love it on its own, I’ve discovered I still don’t care much for it as an ingredient.
  • Veggie pork sausage. I happened to have a bulk tube of it, from when I was on my sausage-and-cheese pancakes kick. Not to mention that I don’t trust most of the Italian sausage around here.
  • Half real eggs, half Egg Beaters – I was looking to use up a carton.
They were good. Not spectacular (I think they might have been better with cheddar cheese instead of parm), but good. My main contention was that they stuck a little too much to the muffin pan – I’m not sure if it’s because of issues with Pam (the can is almost completely empty) or because there wasn’t as much fat, because of the Egg Beaters and veggie sausage.
Adventure #2 is cooling right now – Saltine Toffee. I think everybody has seen/tried some version of this at some point. I added salt to my toffee mixture, as both my butter and crackers were unsalted (yes, I buy salt-less saltines). I used a bag of Ghirardelli 60% bittersweet chips (I didn’t have any regular Nestle chips, and I wasn’t wasting Guittard on saltine crackers), but since a bag is only 11.5 ounces (instead of 12) I also added some Nestle Mini-Chips.
(for the life of me, I couldn’t remember the brand name Guittard when I started writing the above paragraph. I actually spent about 10 minutes going through old blog posts trying to find it, before it dawned on me that it would be a lot faster to get up, walk the 10 feet into the kitchen, and look on the freaking bag)
And now it is time to return to my knitting (an absolutely huge, chunky scarf, in hot pink) and Project Runway.
