• I have had it with public transportation. Okay, the T is still on my good side. But the bus? When the woman several seats down from me, sprawled out across three seats, proceeds to belch and fart so loudly that I can hear it over my blaring  iPod, before we’ve even left the first stop? And the smell lingers for 15 minutes after she gets off? Yeah – time to get a car.
  • Job in a Galaxy Far, Far Away sent me a rejection letter. Honestly, I really didn’t expect an offer from them, for several reasons, and it would have complicated my life on many levels. So on the one hand, I’m totally okay.
  • But on the other hand…doesn’t anybody want me? For anything?
  • Still haven’t heard anything from Job in a Nearby Star System. However, being well-acquainted with said star system, this does not come as any surprise to me.
  • I put Sally Hansen Salon Effects strips on my nails again today. Actually, I use those more often than real nail polish (I made an attempt at Cheshire Cat-inspired nail art the other night, using day-glo pink underneath purple crackle polish; calling it a “hot mess” is way too kind). I’m wearing the butterfly print – it’s my favorite, the only one I’ve used more than once (so far).
  • My nails are probably the only thing about me that I can honestly describe as being real and spectacular.
  • The pieces for Stewie’s sweater are finished (as well as for the matching hat). Now I just have to seam them up. I tend to not be so good at that part, between my impatience and perfectionism.
  • Have made two more batches of crack. This time, I went with the recipes from Apple Turnover Mystery – yes, I tried more Joanne Fluke recipes. Call me a masochist.
  • The vanilla crack is okay. I’m not sure if the toffee was overcooked or undercooked – the sugar and butter had to boil longer and then bake longer than the recipe I had used previously, but the pot I was using was too small, and I had to keep lowering the heat or taking it off completely so it wouldn’t boil over. And I topped it with pistachios.
  • Chocolate crack is still hardening. This also called for longer boiling/baking, but it’s brown sugar and graham crackers unlike the saltines and white sugar of the vanilla., so we’ll see how it works differently. I added cayenne pepper to the toffee, and sprinkled some kosher salt on top of the chocolate.
  • In the middle of watching last night’s Project Runway, so no opinion on it yet. My TiVo decided to reboot while recording it last night, so I had to reset it for the 1am broadcast.
  • I need to figure out how/where to relocate my router. It’s in the front corner of my living room and my computer is in the office, at the back of the apartment. Granted, my router has a 75-foot range, so it’s not all that far away (I can connect to my network on my iPod when I’m around the corner). But it still seems to cut out more than it should. Problem is, the living room is my only cable hook-up, so the router has to stay in there. I may be able to move it a few feet closer, but definitely not much more.
  • Never mind – I got so fed up that I just went and moved it about 5 feet closer. We’ll see if that helps.
  • Yeah, I think that’s about all I’ve got for now. I’m not sure who I’m more sorry for not being more entertaining – me or you.
