• I should probably leave the house today, as I didn’t go out at all over the weekend (yes, the first full weekend of August and I skipped the MFA). Of course, there are the usual problems of where to go, what to do, etc.
  • Chicken thighs are in the slow cooker, accompanied by potatoes and carrots. Dumplings to be added this evening. No recipe being followed – just tossed them in, along with chicken broth and seasoning (sage, rosemary, thyme, dried minced onion and a ton of garlic) and hoping it works.
  • I had it occur to me last night (though not for the first time) that I am pretty much incapable of relaxing. People tend to see me as happy-go-lucky Amanda, always good for a laugh, probably the most Zen person ever after 14 months of unemployment…
  • Are you freaking kidding me? I’m am always incredibly tense, my mind is always in overdrive, and I take everything seriously. Way more seriously than anybody probably gives me credit for.
  • And I mean everything. Best example – karaoke. It’s not drunk entertainment for me – it’s a performance and I’m incredibly hard on myself about it.
  • Three more seams and the neckband to finish on Stewie’s sweater.
  • I’m on a kick again that I need to make myself mittens. This happens all the time. I’ve never actually made myself a pair – usually, if I find a pattern I like, it’s too small for my hands. This was a huge problem when I was gung ho on making convertible mittens. Right now, I’m just settling for regular mittens. I think I finally found a pattern that can work, but of course I don’t have any appropriate yarn and my regular yarn shop is closed on Mondays.
  • I bought a new box of notecards last week. I’ve just realized that the design kinda reminds me of the dance floor in Saturday Night Fever.
