Dear Sally Hansen,

I think you need to hire me for your marketing department, as I have become a one-woman promotional machine. I’ve been a devotee of the Salon Effects trips for over six months, and I am always asked about them. Today alone I received compliments from three different women (all strangers). And I always tell them what they are and how easy they are to use and how long they last. So we should talk.

 

Okay, other stuff…

There are many things that annoy me about not having a car/functioning via public transportation. And the one that probably annoys me the most is grocery shopping.

I was running errands this afternoon (I did not go to the beach after all – I’d forgotten that I had a study at MIT this morning) which ended with stopping at Shaw’s. And I was walking through the dairy section thinking, Do I need milk? Ugh, a half-gallon is going to be heavy to carry home, though. I guess I have enough for a couple more days. I came home and later on this evening discovered that I had less milk than I thought, perhaps not even enough for my coffee tomorrow morning.

If I had a car, I would have just slipped on a pair of shoes, grabbed my purse and keys, and headed over to Whole Foods (it’s technically closer to my apartment than Shaw’s, but it’s one of those places that is a little too far to walk, especially with groceries, but is too close to take the bus). I would have been there and back in under 20 minutes (okay, 30 – we all know I like wandering around Whole Foods).

Public transportation means stuffing everything in my backpack, putting on shoes that won’t hurt when walking, grabbing my iPod, walking the 7 minutes to the T station, waiting for the train, 5 minutes to get to Porter Square, walking to Shaw’s, shopping, walking back to the bus stop, waiting god knows how long for the bus, probably 15 minutes home (including the walk from the bus stop) (yes, I take to T to Porter Square but take the bus home – it’s a very weird combination of safety and laziness). If I’m lucky, about an hour overall. To buy a freaking carton of milk. To me, it’s just not worth it.

So the end of that story is now I have to plan to buy milk tomorrow. And that bothers me. I don’t think it would bother me so much if it were something I would be doing on my way home from work, like a normal 33 year-old woman. No, my Big Plan For The Day is “buy milk.” I hope that makes sense.

Mitten knitting is going as expected, meaning irritating. I finished one (except the thumb), and it’s too big. However, based on the measurements, I fear the size below will be too small.

In honor of the start of the Iowa State Fair, tonight I made corn dog muffins for dinner. Basically, I took this corn muffin recipe and shoved 1/4 of a hot dog into each one (Hebrew National 97% Fat Free).

Next week will be better…right? Right?

