So as previously mentioned, last night I mixed up a batch of Jacques Torres’ Chocolate Chip Cookies, as published in The New York Times back in 2008.

My changes (which were done out of necessity):

  • dark brown sugar instead of light brown sugar (dark brown is what I keep around as a staple)
  • as I certainly wasn’t going to order chocolate discs directly from Mr. Torres, nor spend an obscene amount of money on Valrhona feves at Whole Foods (at least, I wasn’t going to buy 1.25 pounds of them for cookies; I have in the past purchased smaller quantities for eating straight), I used a mixture of chocolates – 8 oz. Ghirardelli 70% baking bars (picked them up on my post-gym Shaw’s run), 6 oz. Guittard Aloma Extra Semisweet chocolate chips (my personal favorite for cookies these days), and 6 oz. Guittard 63% Extra Dark chocolate chips (I had half a bag of each leftover from previous batches of cookies). The reason for the mix? When I was at Shaw’s, they only had two Ghirardelli bars left, and I thought I had two 70% Scharffen Berger bars at home. Turns out I didn’t. And even though I had unopened bags of each kind of Guittard chips, I wanted to use up what I had already started.
  • This wasn’t out of necessity, but I didn’t put sea salt on top. Sometimes I just think the whole salt-and-chocolate thing is overdone (salt and caramel, on the other hand, is a different story).
  • Oh, and though you’re supposed to refrigerate the dough for at least 24 hours, I baked the first dozen after only 14 hours. Because I’m an impatient little…something or other…

(My first thought there was ‘impatient little motherfucker,’ but I’m not really comfortable referring to myself as a motherfucker. Not even as a bad-ass one. My next thought was ‘impatient little bitch,’ but I didn’t like that, either. I will admit to having my moments, but I think we can all agree that I am most certainly not a bitch.)

(But I am bad-ass.)

Yes, I actually used cake flour and bread flour (organic bread flour, even) – I already had cake flour on hand, in the event I ever wanted to make, you know, a cake. And I picked up the bread flour on the previously mentioned Shaw’s run (the only reason I bought organic was because it was available in a 2 lb. package – I really didn’t want to haul home a 5 lb. bag of flour).

And for once, I have pictures for you! (Though I warn you, my food photography skills suck)

And a close-up:

The results? *shrug* They’re good. Better than some recipes I’ve tried. But not what I’m looking for in a cookie. They’re chewy, but actually a little too dry for my tastes. I don’t know – maybe that extra 10+ hours of refrigeration does something. I’ll let you know after I bake off the rest.

I’ve also discovered that when it comes to chips vs. chunks, I prefer chips. They stay in place in the cookie. Look at all the chocolate that leaked out from the Ghirardelli pieces:

Overall, I still prefer Thomas Keller’s recipe from ad hoc at home (which I really need to get the next time I go to the library), with chips instead of chunks, though I’m thinking that maybe the misting technique might have worked here.

