• Yeah, not a lot to say again (I’ve been pretty down for the past few hours). But I’ll try my best.
  • Last week was a good week to be a Yankees fan/Bills-fan-by-default in New England.
  • Last Thursday afternoon I had an interview, afterwards there was a torrential downpour in Boston. And I had neither an umbrella (forgot it at home) nor a raincoat (I had ordered one several days prior; it should arrive tomorrow). Just me in an ill-fitting, soaking wet polyester suit.
  • So after getting drenched and then riding home on air conditioned busses, should I be surprised that I woke up the next morning with nausea and chills?
  • I can tell you that wherever she is, Grandma was laughing her ass off at me…she was of the stereotypical “You’re going to catch your death of cold!!” Italian grandmothers.
  • And as an Italian mother, too – just ask The Mom. And I hope that The Mom realizes that when she dies, I really am going to have her gravestone engraved with “She went out with her hair wet.”
  • I did some baking over the past week – a spelt and olive oil cake with bittersweet chocolate, an applesauce cake, and a mock apple pie.
  • There will be pics of everything except the applesauce cake (I forgot to take them) in a later post. I just don’t feel like hooking up the camera right now.
  • And more discussion on them, too. Though I have to say about the mock apple pie…the fact that sugar, water, and cream of tartar can turn Ritz crackers into the appearance and texture of apples is more than a little scary.
  • Flying to Buffalo for Columbus Day weekend. Which means I really need to get cracking on Project Dorothy’s Kidlet (I’m going for her baby shower).
  • I land in Buffalo at 9:41am. And I figure that by 10:30 I should be singing showtunes to Stewie. Well, at least cuddling him – the singing may have to wait until 11, as I won’t want to interrupt his favorite program.
  • Said show, by the way, would be Hoda and Kathie Lee.
  • Netflix may have screwed up a lot lately (though not for me – I had switched to streaming-only a couple of months before they separated everything and jacked up the prices, so I wasn’t affected at all), but there is one thing that has gone right: as of Saturday, Star Trek: Deep Space Nine became available for streaming. And I had been waiting for MONTHS.
  • And I see a future post on this, because what I am about to say, some will see it as blasphemy: while I have several soft spots for TNG (*coughWilWheatoncough*), I’ve realized over the past few days that I actually find DS9 to be the better show.
  • And now I believe I will go watch some while getting some knitting done.
