I had a not-so-good week, Origamians. Not only does that mean I tend to not want to write on here, it also means I don’t want to work on my NaNoWriMo novel.  At this moment, I’m still two days behind. But I’m plugging away, getting there. I have to finish it this year.

I’m leaving next Friday morning, the 18th, for Buffalo for Thanksgiving, and staying until the 28th. I’m not pleased that I’m leaving so early/staying so long, for several reasons, but I have no way around it. On the plus side, I get to see Stewie. And Blanche, and Dorothy, and meet Dorothy’s son, now 2.5 weeks old.

I was at a function on Wednesday evening that I basically dressed up to go to. And by dressed up, I mean what probably passes for work clothes in some offices – my favorite v-neck kimono-sleeve sweater, black pencil skirt, and low heels (I didn’t even take a pair of Crocs for walking). I had my contacts in and makeup on. Definitely not my everyday attire.

I think I’ve mentioned this before, but I found myself wishing again that I was in a daily environment that did require that. I mean, I suppose I could dress up every day, but right now that seems like a waste of dry-clean-only clothing (especially since I need to by Dryel refills). I wish I had dressed up more in my previous job. Of course, I always used to say that they didn’t pay me enough to dress better than I did, figuratively or literally…when it comes down to a choice between nice clothes or paying my gas bill, NStar gets it over Macy’s.

I’ve actually been “missing” clothes lately. And I miss shopping with CJ. I also miss actually looking good in clothes, but that’s a whole other show. It all makes me miss a lot of stuff, really.

In related news, I spent money I probably shouldn’t have on a lovely new Vera Bradley tote. But the pattern I liked, Loves Me, was marked down over 50% at the time, so I jumped on it. My feet are too big to have a shoe addiction, so it’s all about the bags for me.

I made an excellent dinner the other night – butternut squash ravioli  (courtesy of Trader Joe’s) tossed with butter, Parmesan cheese, and a drizzle of maple syrup (sounds kind of odd for pasta, but if you think about it, it makes sense). I still think it could have used a midge of garlic, but it was still incredibly yummy.

And now it’s time to get back to knitting all the things and writing all the words.

